fokitamil.blogg.se

Youtube ryley walker go your way my love kexp
Youtube ryley walker go your way my love kexp












So I read that you can't listen to Deafman Glance anymore because it kind of "broke your brain." Does that make touring hard? And then I wanted to have him on board in a band because he's really into jamming and stuff. He put on a show for me in Columbus and then we just decided to do a collaboration set. I don't want to call it serious contemporary music or anything. Ryan, who plays drums, he was living in Columbus, Ohio at the time about 10 years ago and I was getting really into improvising and noise stuff. Ryley Walker: I found them through the Midwest noise scene. How did you find those guys and how long have you been playing with them?

youtube ryley walker go your way my love kexp

Walker was gracious enough to chat with KEXP after his performance, covering his addiction recovery, his love of Dave Matthews, and the joy of the big city. (Both are out now via Dead Oceans.) Sadly, 2018 was also the year he began to self-destruct from drugs and depression, a pit he's since proudly managed to crawl out of. There was a point where it seemed like Walker and the drummer were improvising and playing off each other like jazz musicians. After the performance, walking back outside, I could hear attendees still marveling over what they just witnessed.ĭeafman Glance isn't the only thing Walker released last year he also released The Lillywhite Sessions, an irony-free cover album of an unreleased Dave Matthews Band LP. Throughout the entire performance, they were cheering before the songs were even over. He came out on stage sans shirt, saying it was just too hot, and proceeded to launch into a jaw-dropping set of tracks spotlighting his most recent release Deafman Glance.

youtube ryley walker go your way my love kexp

Instead of performing from one of the outdoor stages, he was booked in the intimate Wheeler Theater, which seats less than 300 people.

youtube ryley walker go your way my love kexp

One of the best kept secrets at THING Fest was Ryley Walker.














Youtube ryley walker go your way my love kexp